Living on a Prayer

Those days when hope comes easily to you, with eyes shut in prayer, heart bent and emotions alive.

The tears trail down your neck, stinging the wounds that line your skin, cooling the intensity hidden between the words you mew.

“For you, the walls around my heart are nothing but cellophane. For you, all my edges and abnormalities are merely learning curves. You show me the warmth that I hide inside the tatters of the faith that I have left. You are the forgiveness that I have been living on since the day that I first sinned. You’re a story that nobody ever told me… the one I’ve been lucky enough to live myself. They’re proud of me for having stood my ground for so long, little do they know who’s keeping me from limping.”

I looked up when the world was unbearable to watch and now… I can’t stop looking.

2 thoughts on “Living on a Prayer

Leave a comment